Last day in Mexico

What a crazy day, guys!

We played our final game of the tournament against the USA team and it was a nail biter. We were pretty evenly matched and tied 3-3 so went into overtime. Again! It was one of the most stressful moments of my life.

I am proud of my whole team. We came in 35th out of the 70 nations that competed. 12 spots better than last year. That’s pretty good I would have to say. We stayed after our game and watched the championship match between Chile and Mexico. Very exciting game. Chile won 8-3 and the title of the Homeless World Cup. Congratulations to Chile.

There was a little dance party at the end of the day for the players and I had the chance to trade my jersey with a player who filled in for one of our teammates. That was a special moment for me because the players that fill in are so grateful and happy to be taken in by a team. The guy actually cried after the game. That then made me cry. Good tears. I am very happy to see someone else try their hardest for a country that was not even theirs and be grateful to have the opportunity to play the sport that they love. I found out that this player trains 7 days a week 7am to 7pm. Isn’t that crazy?! It just goes to show how much the sport of soccer means to some people in the world.

I’m here now sitting on the roof of my hotel about to go to dinner for the last time in this beautiful city. I’m going to miss it here. I’m going to enjoy my last night in Mexico and celebrate everything we accomplished as a team.

Alright folks, I’ll be updating tomorrow. See you guys when I get back to Canada 🙂

Leave a comment